Quite a productive private bird photography tour marked the beginning of the new year

We started the New Year with a customized bird photography tour, targeting several species of woodpeckers, Spotted Nutcracker and White-throated Dipper. Here are the resulting beautiful photos by the Polish wildlife photographer Lukasz Wielec :


Unlike many other countries, Bulgaria is currently open for tourists, the hotels are working and serve food to their clients, although the restaurants are still closed. Here is the official announcement from the Bulgarian government:

Tourists from 57 countries may enter the territory of the Republic of Bulgaria without being placed under quarantine and without the need to present a document showing a negative result of a PCR test to prove COVID-19 (PCR test).  All border crossings are open to visitors arriving from:

    The Republic of Austria;

    The Kingdom of the Netherlands;

    Federal Republic of Germany;

    The Republic of Poland;

   The  Republic of Greece;

    The Kingdom of Denmark;


    The Republic of Estonia;

    The Slovak Republic;

    The Republic of Slovenia;


    The Republic of Finland;

    The Republic of Cyprus;

    The French Republic;

    The Republic of Latvia;

    The Republic of Croatia;

    The Republic of Lithuania;

    Czech Republic;

    The Portuguese Republic;

    Grand Duchy of Luxembourg;


    The Kingdom of Norway;


    Principality of Liechtenstein;

    Republic of San Marino;

    Principality of Andorra;

    Principality of Monaco;

    Vatican City State;

    Republic of Malta

    Republic of Italy

    Kingdom of Spain

    The Republic of Ireland;

    Kingdom of Belgium;

    The Kingdom of Sweden;

    Australian Union;




    New Zealand;

    Republic of Rwanda;

    Republic of Korea;

    The Kingdom of Thailand;

    Republic of Tunisia;

    Eastern Republic of Uruguay;

    United Arab Emirates;

    Republic of Belarus;

    Republic of Serbia;

    Republic of Turkey;

 From December 24, 2020 to January 31, 2021, visitors from the following countries may enter all border crossing points after presenting  a negative result of a PCR test performed up to 72 hours before entering the territory of the Republic of Bulgaria:  

    Republic of Northern Macedonia;

    The Republic of Albania;


    Bosnia and Herzegovina;


    The Republic of Moldova;


    Emirate of Kuwait.


The list is subject to updates and supplementation depending on the development of the epidemic situation.